Bangalore Blues

Background – I went on a work trip to Bengaluru. The weather was too good to be true and by my favourite mode to travel- Indian Rail(which I love). Jeffery Archer’s -Only Time will Tell was my companion.  I don’t like food in the train- so i carried palak puri, methi thepla’s, groundnut chutney.

When I got an auto at 6.30 am, I crossed from one corner of the Garden City to the other-the-cool-air-in-my-hair felt so romantic- that I mumbled to the city- I love you.

Stay –So I stayed at an awesome service apartment- a clean, centrally located, safe everything that we women need- It is called Serenity Inn, Domlur. I strongly recommend this one!

Eat-A couple of places which I loved to dine in Bangalore & I vowed that I wont eat twice at the same place, which gave me so many delicious tastings.

  1. Smoke House Deli, 100 Feet Road- I loved the Basa(fish) with some lip smacking sauce.
  2. Plan b(Indira Nagar & Shanti Nagar) – The ambiance, music, starters and the service. I met Tina & Thashvin the owners told what an amazing place they were running. Hoping we have many more Plan B’s at Mumbai, Pune and other cities.  Ironically the cutest person at their Indiranagar pub is the bouncer -Vincent. Extremely helpful and fun loving.
  3. The Phobidden Fruit – Delicious- Vietnamese cuisine. What an ambiance loved every bite. A New York City class restaurant.
  4. Bricklane Grill – Indira Nagar- Spectacular view and surprising that even the catering served delicious food. The brownies were the best
  5. Bflat & Highnote Bar &Dinning- Everyone praises them for their continental and asian, they surprised me with their delicious mach and jhol. Yumm,  can feel the taste while a write about it.
  6. Mavalli Tiffin Room (MTR) – In addition to their food – I loved the way the clean the table and their no-tolerance for  dirty table! I tried taking a video, but the cleaner was too embarrassed. I will not praise their food -as they are world famous. Would want to point out that the first generation proprietors visited UK, France in 1960-70’s to understand how restaurants works abroad-Now can we give them a Vision Award for the same?

    Grilled Basa at Smoke House Deli

See- Besides a I stuck to my promise of  visiting a historical site and I visited the -Bangalore Palace-

  1. Bangalore Palace- Entry Rs. 375/- This seems a little expensive, but it ensures quality crowd comes in. The ones who does not vandalize the property and by writing their names on the wall.
  2. Vidhana Soudha- Nostalgia- My family pic when I visited the city as a child and I missed my dad.

    Bangalore Palace- a must visit

Meet –  This is one place we need to work on. It is so  important we meet our old friends/ex colleagues and catch up with them. I loved every moment I spent with Tina Chengappa, Vijay Bharadwaj. The highlight was when I bumped into Anant Rangawamy at BFlat &Highnote Bar & Dining. What pleasure was it to see him. Met a school time friend Amruta Patwardhan & her husband – Rajarshi Choudhury. Amruta- gifted me a bouquet of flowers, its been years- since I received one and I loved holding onto it. Dining with work colleagues also ended up being fun!

Wrap Up- It was a good break, especially when you are in a 6 day working week and  travel takes almost 2 hours per day. Fell in love with Bangalore once again, want to be back soon- Travel God are you listening?

Leave a comment