New York City’s Hidden Treasures!

The touristy-New York City many must do’s! My list wacky list of amazing experiences which I loved in the city were-

  • Walk on Brooklyn Bridge – Yes, if you are in Manhattan, please go on the Brooklyn side by train, pick up an ice cream and walk towards Manhattan.
  • Bike around Central Park- This is just so awesome. If you don’t own one, you can rent one. They have fixies-bikes which dont have brakes. If one wants to stop – one pedals backwards. In the beginning its a little difficult to get used to, but we get a hang of it after half a kilometers, oops half a mile 😉
  • Ice Skate at Bryant Park-  The most amazing sport. The cherry on the cake is to watch the US Ice Skating team put up a performance(for free) its like watching a Princess on Ice. One can always rent skates for
  • Columbus Circle – This is the most underestimated spots in the city. Everyone is rushing around the circle, but very few people actually enter inside and sip a hot chocolate on the bench and observe the crazy New Yorkers, the Japanese tourists and the skilled taxi drivers whizz past! i suggest-go to Argo- the coffee shop, get a drink and come and sit inside this beautiful park.
  • Dosa outside Washington Square Park– I loved feasting on the dosa at Washington Square Park and then hang in Washington Square Park.
  • Ferry to Staten Island- This is cheapest way to see the Statue of Liberty. When you at the Statue, you really dont see the statue. This definitely qualifies as one of the Top 10 free ways to see the Wonders of the World.
  • Walk and Dinner in Astoria – The red brick houses in this locality makes you feel like you are in London and if it is followed by a Greek meal – its pure ambrosia.
  • Korea Town- Korean food, followed by a drunk session of Karaoke is an experience in its kind.
  • Hair-do in China town- I know this sounds weird. But the Haircuts in Chinatown make you look really Chinese. They wash-straighten and then give you a hair do. And trust me you look quite Asian.(And its inexpensive when you compare it to a place where you pay an average of $120 for a hairdo!)
Hair do in Chinatown-
Hair do in Chinatown-
  • National Museum of American Indian- What a classy museum. It explains how the Native American Indian lived their life. In a city which is so full of the future, this is an amazing glimpse of America’s rich and historical past. There is a free tour where they open the various locked rooms and explain everything. What amazed me was the native American Indian’s rich medicinal history. So many movies are shot in the main room.
  • Metropolitan Museum of Art- Loved every moment here. I started the museum audio tour around 10.30am and was there till they pushed me out and wanted to be there more. Yes, I love museums!
  • New York Public Library – A library free for all, you can go inside, sit, even if you are not a member. On a cold, windy day on 5th Avenue (a place which is beyond my budget) this quaint little ‘free‘ place just made my day. The only bad point is at times it is full of homeless people. So to make it uncomfortable for them, they keep the windows open on some floors. On one of my visits, I had one bad experience-where I was eve teased,which is totally unacceptable-but that can happen in any city in the world- we have to shout and let the world know.
  • Dinner at Grand Central Station– This is the most romantic railway station, especially if we compare it to our Indian railway stations. I mean if DDLJ was shot in New York, this is the station. And whichever restaurants you choose the food will be good.

Boating in Central Park, Sitting outside The Plaza Hotel/Pulitzer with a hot chocolate, 4D movie experience at Madame Tussauds, Shakespeare in the Park(The most laborious process to get the free tickets)

Yes, I loved the city-met some amazing people. I miss them alot. I wonder if I want to go back and then look at the world map and realize – no I have to move on!

Nevertheless – I miss New York and some New Yorkers

My Goodbye Kiss to New York City
My Goodbye Kiss to New York City

Leave a comment